Well, it’s Monday again…no more weekend relaxation for five more days. I like everyone enjoy the weekend, and especially because it allows me to reduce the amount of time management I have to do in relation to my Cystic Fibrosis treatment, timetables, diet, etc. I can relax a bit on the weekends, and do things in a more slow paced fashion.

So, when the weekend comes around I start to get less stressed in general, and the reverse happens when the new week begins. I start to get stressed out, usually late Sunday, but sometimes not until Monday. Moreover, it always focuses around how I anticipate I am going to feel, and what I am going to have to do to compensate.

I’ve reached a point in my life where most of what I do is routine, and I’m used to it…it’s just my life. But, there are those few things that pop in and out of my routine, that throw a wrench into the gears. Some things become more pressing, some become less…creating a situation where I have to prioritize needs, instead of wants. In prioritizing needs things become extremely convoluted and, unless you’ve experienced it in such a defined way it is almost impossible to explain in a way which the average person could warp their head around.

You may be thinking to yourself I have had to prioritize needs before, and before you start assuming that I’m just making a mountain out of a molehill i’ll explain further. When I say prioritizing needs I don’t mean deciding between needing to get new shoes, or a new belt…or  deciding between needing to get a new piece of furniture or a new TV…or even something more personal like deciding between needing to fulfill a task given to you at work, or one given to you by a family member or close friend.

No, when I say prioritizing needs I mean deciding between needing to go to a Dr. appointment, or getting nutritional supplements…or deicing between refilling a prescription, or making sure you have enough food for the week. Maybe one of the worst of all deciding between what health information to share with family or friends, and what to keep to yourself…for fear of creating more stress or angst among those you love.

There are so many problems that we as CFer’s, anyone with a terminal, or lifelong illness face…some of them are easily adaptable, and some are so disconcerting that we would rather keep them bottled up than share, and have the possibility of allowing those problems to affect the ones we cherish. That is one of the harder parts of CF, it isn’t the coughing up blood, or aching all over, or even being stuck in the bathroom all day. It is watching those around you and feeling their pain as they look on helplessly. It is deciding between several things you have to have, and choosing between the MOST pressing of the issues on your plate to focus on. Making those choices of which need is more important, deciding what issues to keep to yourself, or even trying to shield the ones you love from your spilled over problems can sometimes be more taxing than any of the physical symptoms combined.

I guess that is the kind of problems I anticipate about the new week…what will pop up that I have to set other problems aside to focus on now? How will I approach the unapproachable amount of shit on my plate? And, how will I protect my loved ones from feeling, or even seeing my pain? They are questions I have yet to find answers to and I don’t think I ever will…

So, until I do figure out how to be “Superman” I will continue to do my best to put on a smile, move forward with my head up, but make sure I keep my chin down to avoid the unavoidable blows life throws at me (little martial arts pun). I will take things in stride, and try to keep my cool in all the shitty situations I am faced with, because that is what I have to do to keep my sanity, and to make sure the problems I have don’t become the problems of everyone around me, admittedly this doesn’t always work, but I will try regardless. I will smile, and laugh no matter how much of a terrible day I’ve had, and how badly I feel, because that’s all I have at times…is my inner strength, my will, and my ability to deal with the pain all day, but still smile.

 

Leave a Reply

