As I have created this page, I get more people specifically looking for CF pages than anything else, it isn’t really something of a topic most people will stumble upon and read just to learn more, and that’s fine…I’ve accepted that.

However, I have had a few friends read this page, people who have either a friend or family member with CF or know someone with CF…it isn’t a large group, but there are those who do.

One common question I get as my CF becomes more prevalent in my life, and it shows itself more than it did when I was a younger man. How is it dating when you have Cystic Fibrosis?

So, here’s the answer I give them: Dating in general is a hard thing to do, especially in the times we live in where most people just want a quick hookup, as there are no less than 5 apps/sites dedicated specifically to that. But, having something like CF where if the person you are dating finds out and looks it up before you can explain what CF is like, they’ll probably be scared off. So, if you can make it to the first date, be honest…it is the best way to break that uncomfortable barrier. If the person you are dating comes and is curious explain what CF is, but don’t be graphic and morbid, ease them into life with Cystic Fibrosis. Allow them to see, you are just a person like anyone else, just so happens you have CF and have to take some pills, and do some breathing treatments. Here’s where it can get tricky…the first time that person sees you “sick” will tell you everything you need to know about dating them. If they are caring, concerned, and curious chances are they are a good person for you to keep dating, most people like that are genuinely good people. But, there are also the ones who will be fine, until they see you sick and it will scare, intimidate, freak them out, or maybe just not fit into their idea of what they want in life, which is fine, but totally on them. You control what you can and the right person will be the person you need them to be.

As far as everything else goes i.e. long-term relationship, living together, sex, marriage, etc. It is all do-able with the right care, planning, and most importantly the right person.

5 thoughts on “Dating with Cystic Fibrosis

  1. Totally agree! When I became ill it was very obvious who was worthy of my time going forward and who wasn’t. My husband has always been wonderful in health and it turns out in sickness he is just as wonderful. I have read others’ stories of when they got sick how their spouses true colours shone through. Glad I didn’t have to live through that. Take care my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ya, I’m not married. I came close once, but I’m so glad I didn’t. Their true self was unveiled when I got bad rundown a couple xmas’s ago…I’ve definitely had a few run for the hills, but it’s better to know. Thank you so much, you take care as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I wrote about dating in my “book” on my blog, along with marriage and divorce and remarriage. http://www.cfhappens.com It’s under my life story at the top. My first husband didn’t want to deal with CF anymore plus he was unfaithful. I took time for myself then reconnected with a childhood friend and we have been together 10 years and married for 7 of those years. It is scary finding someone who will love you unconditionally.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

