I just recently got over a pretty bad bout of CF rundown, and I noticed something that I’ve thought about a lot over the past several years. I have a lot of variance between high’s and low’s in my life. So much so that I’m used to it to the point where its just normal to me. I know everyone gets used to their life as “normal” and I guess that’s part of my point, it’s strange what we can become used to…

I know people who are used to drinking everyday until they pass out, I know people who don’t drink at all and only do hard drugs, I also know people who have had 3 kids since high school, and all of them are used to their lives. It’s just their normal, and that’s fine, no judgment here…I’m not a judgmental person. But, it does make you think about what things in your life are just your normal and how easily you can get used to that stuff.

I have been “sick” since I was 3, when I was diagnosed with Cystic Fibrosis. Everyday since then I have taken 20-40 pills, done several breathing treatments, and had very specific dietary restrictions, and requirements…depending on my current health situation that stuff can vary and fluctuate. But, I see how other people live and they don’t have to do this stuff, when I noticed the difference at a young age I realized my normal was different but didn’t really have to think about that as an indefinite life path until around the beginning of highschool. That’s when it started to affect how I thought about things and how I approached things. Then college rolled around and I tried to push that stuff to the back of my mind, and “hide” my CF with more medication, and things that wouldn’t be considered medicine, but more “self-medication.”

As the time in college passed I slowly became a little more aware of how different my life was going to end up as compared to my friends, classmates, and fraternity brother’s. I realized they could whenever they chose change their life path and do something different, but I was always going to have CF, nothing I could do would change that.

Now, I’m pushing 30…and I sit up at night and wonder what would be my life if I didn’t have CF, what would I be doing and where would I be right now? Its a question that really messes with me sometimes, other times I handle it well. I’m sometimes referred to as a morbid person, but I’m not really, I just have had to come to terms with death from a young age. Which allows me not only to look at things differently, but look at life itself in a way that most people don’t get to ever. I sometimes find myself classifying it as a blessing but other times I classify it as a curse. I definitely have an “old soul” as people so often say, but people don’t realize its been aged more by my life and health circumstances until they really get to know me.

Anyways, I’ve been in a pretty bad low for the past several weeks, maybe a bit longer, and can tell I am coming out of it, but I’m still in it enough to have the vantage point that kind of messes with my head. I don’t want to be sick…it sucks. I don’t want to have all of this extra shit to do all of the time, but I do, and it will never change. I just have to deal with it the best I can and so that is what I will do. So, having said that I realize why peoples normal is different, but I envy those who can change their normal…because I can’t…and I will never be able to.

Leave a Reply

