Wake up: 8:30 am (feeling pretty good today)

Make some tea and have an orange and a couple of doughnuts: 9:30 am (not having too much trouble today, must be one of the good ones.)

Take the dog for a walk and stretch/get some fresh air: 10:15 am-11:00 am (nice weather finally)

11:15 am – 2:00 pm: bathroom routine, and shower (extra long shower enjoying the hot water after a long walk)

2:15 pm: make some lunch, and watch a bit of TV (Tuna sandwich and chicken noodle soup, and this new show called “Taboo” which I must say is pretty cool, weird but cool)

4:00 pm: making some phone calls, handling my daily routine of household stuff, cleaning etc. (reveling in the fact that today isn’t really too rough)

5:00 pm: got to talk to my Dad for a good little while (something I don’t get to do too often)

Really having a pretty nice, and normal day…enjoying the weather and playing with my dog, as well as catching up on some stuff I’ve been putting off…can’t complain.

And then my luck rears it’s head and the routine turns to shit!…As I am eating a late afternoon snack I take a bite of seafood pasta, suddenly I feel it. I bite down on a piece of shell, and CRUNCH…one of my teeth breaks…son of a bitch! I run to the bathroom and start examining my mouth, rinsing with mouthwash and getting out my floss sticks to make sure everything is ok. It isn’t…I realize I have broken my back molar and a rather large piece of the side has come off. F@CK ME!! This is just my luck, as I am taking the nice day for granted I get a visit from reality…

So, with CF I have a serious vitamin deficiency, mainly ADEK. One of the thing’s I have come to accept about the Cystic Fibrosis is this: weak bones, weak joints, rapid aging of the body and it’s components. And, just as I am eating my snack it comes back onto me like a ton of bricks…I will be dealing with this kind of bullshit for the rest of my life.

Now, tomorrow when I wake up I will have to call the dentist, and be prepared to be told “you need an extraction” being that the last time I had a serious dental emergency that is what I needed. I am expecting to have a pretty crappy couple of week waiting for an appointment, and trying to figure out how I am going to pay for what I hope is a routine procedure, but due to the nature of CF and the poor health of my body in general, I am expecting the worst. “William you need an extraction of your back right molar, we don’t have any opening for a month, and your dental insurance doesn’t cover this kind of stuff, it will cost around $1500.00.”

You get used to dealing with problems on a regular basis with something like CF, and this is definitely one of the more jarring and miserable ones, as my body deteriorates at an expedited pace. So, here we go…ill find out what is going to come next tomorrow when I call my dentist. FML!

Leave a Reply

