So, it’s about 2pm and the Super Bowl is going to come on in a couple of hours, so with a small amount of time to kill, I am going to write this and then i’ll be done for the day, probably won’t post again until tomorrow. I am feeling pretty good today, aside from being congested a bit (the cold weather always does this to me) so I am trying to get some stuff done that I didn’t get done this past week.

As I’ve stated in previous blogs, I am seeking and trying very hard to find my place in this whole social media neighborhood, as well as finding my niche, if you will. Working a 9-5 is out of the question for me, getting creative about how to earn a living, and ways to create income while being happy at the same time is something I have been focusing on a lot recently. I find myself dreaming about being a spokesperson, or brand ambassador for clothes, cars, lifestyle consumer goods, etc. It is a bit daydream-esque I know, but it is my dream to be able to focus on my health, and have that focus be the platform for which I “sell” myself to companies showing the world what someone with Cystic Fibrosis can do with a bit of financial, or product backing. So, I have been researching what kind of companies “sponsor” people, and although there isn’t a lot of “individual sponsorship” for people who aren’t famous or star athletes, there are a few people who’s model I am going to try to follow, but in doing so I want to carve out my own path, something that really hasn’t been done much, if ever. Now, watch me transform my health, my life, and my community while dealing with the daily struggles of CF, but no holds barred. So, no filter, no censorship…the raw and real life that I live, but with the things I want and dream of being intertwined to a create a journey of regaining my former glory of health, so to speak. A full vision of what my life is, the roughest and best parts of it. Intertwined hopefully with some kinds of product, service, and financial support I am doing everything I can to attain. So a car commercial, a clothing commercial, a food commercial all rolled together and how it pertains to me and my health, the way I have to do certain things, and how those products or financial backing play a roll in what I do, when I do it, and how I do it. I realize there are a lot of “if’s” in the idea I am figuring out how to bring to fruition…there are already hurdles I had no idea I would run into, so I understand it’s very presumptuous to think I can do this or obtain the things I hope to obtain…it’s my dream though, and I am doing everything I can with what I have available to me to make it a reality, hopefully one day I’ll be looking back reading this saying “I did it, I’m here!”

How it looks in my mind: I wake up and the camera is already rolling “a day in the life begins.” I roll out of bed and do my morning coughing and hacking routine where I maybe reach for and drink, thanks to their sponsorship, my bottle of Gatorade.

Then I get all of my medications and treatments out of the way, while I play around on my computer or video game (given to me by the electronics company that sponsors me with their product’s) and relax while listening to my earphones…

As I finish up and start down to the kitchen to make some breakfast I open the fridge containing all the Boost, yogurt, etc. that I can consume, with the help of their generous sponsorship, my product placement is me nourishing my tired, sore, weak body with a couple of chocolate Boost’s and a yogurt to get my blood sugar up.

Next is bathroom and shower time, this is my personal time to get my mind right, and allow the hot water to reduce the tension in my muscles and relax my body…afterwards I use my skincare, or sore muscle creams to ease the rest of the pain and continue my day.

I come out to head on in and get dressed, depending on the day’s tasks, appointments, business meets, etc. I reach for a certain garment of clothing provided to me by my favorite outdoor apparel company, or if it’s serious business, I select a suit and tie from the couple of tailored suits given to my by a generous men’s business attire company. I then throw on my New Balances, or my Sperry’s or my penny loafer’s…all depends on what I have to do that day.

As I finish up and get ready to head out, I go out and start the truck, sedan, or coupe generously given to me to get around, and act as a rolling advertisement, by my automobile sponsor. Which is decked out with ad placement in the form of stickers, or a certain “full-body” decal, or a window flag, maybe even a creative license plate, or paint job.

I head off to the meeting where I am doing a collaboration for a podcast, a meeting with a pharmaceutical company about their new allergy medicine, or their new version of a rescue inhaler, even something generically taken by many people Advil, or Tums…whatever company willing to throw their support being me, I will give my all in helping them reach the goals of said company.

Now, this is entirely fantasy based post, none of this real as of now, and none of these companies support me in any way, this is basically an: if I could wake up tomorrow and be in a world created totally by my dreams and wishes scenario. Idealistic would be good description…but, fantasy is more on point. This isn’t probably something that’s even possible to do, as most professional athlete’s don’t have this kind of sponsorship…but, just imagine…being able to focus on my health totally, not having to worry about what I was going to wear, how I was going to get form point A to B, what I was going to eat, if I was able to afford my medication, and doctor appointment. If it were all, or even partly covered by some kinds of help from the corporate world it would change my life.

These are the kinds of things I dream about…not luxurious trip’s, or expensive watches, the newest iPhone, the most sought after rims for a car, endless margarita’s, or anything of the sort. I dream of being able to, as If I didn’t have CF, just LIVE, to do the daily activities most people take for granted as they move forward in life purchasing their first car, their first home, having children, getting married. It’s not impossible, but it’s very improbable that I will have that kind of life, the Cystic Fibrosis is an incredibly heavy ball and chain that keeps me in the place I’m in, basically just keeping my head above water is requiring all of my energy and time. So, my dreams include the things that would allow me to flourish, or just have what most people consider “normal.”

Again, I know how this sounds, trust me I see it the same way, but that doesn’t mean I am not going to try…because you never know. Someone reading this could be a fortune 500 executive, and decide hey I like this guy’s idea, and id love to help him get his health back in order…let get the ball rolling…lol. I know, I know…but I can dream right? lol. Anyways, enough of this high fantasy, back to reality it is. Either way I appreciate you taking the time to check this out and have a great day, be safe while enjoying the Super Bowl.

Leave a Reply

