YES, it’s Friday afternoon, and I have had a rough week. However, most of the time the silver lining of CF or life in general is only visible behind a cloud of unpleasantness. I have been trying to raise some awareness to this invisible illness Cystic Fibrosis, that so few American’s have, and in doing so I have realized some things about people in our society. The term out of sight out of mind is an insane thought until you put some thought behind how YOU operate in your day to day life. Think about it, when you have a sick friend, or pass a homeless person in your car, or see a dog get beat by some dickhead it bothers you, however as soon as that next thing pops into your brain its replacing that “bad feeling.” Its not that we do these things on  purpose, its just in our nature.

Imagine what the world would be like if every time we saw a homeless person we stopped and helped them. If every time we saw a sick friend we did everything in our power to make sure they were on the path to getting better, or at least getting help. These thought have lead me to a silver lining thought: We need to put our money where our mouth’s are. So, I am going to start doing this at least once a week, I am going to go out of my way to help somebody, but here’s the catch, none of what I do is going to be recorded, or even shared with anyone. I am going to do everything I can to keep it between me and the person I am helping. I could be something as simple as helping an older lady load her groceries, or getting a meal for a homeless person without asking first, “just do it” (as NIKE says…

This isn’t really a new concept, but it is one that isn’t employed enough, we too often just go about our business. Sadly, I am guilty of this as are most if not all of us. So, I ask that you reach out and help someone at least once a week, if not once a day. I know that’s asking a lot of people who are already very busy, and spread thin. But, I believe we can make more of a difference than we feel we can as one person, if it’s a bunch of us doing it the results will be amplified greatly. Now, it can be someone you know, or a total stranger…but, please be safe while doing this. Some people are looking to take advantage of kind-hearted people so use good judgement. With the Super Bowl just around the corner we are all planning a party, or making arrangements for gluttonous amounts of food and drink to be available to us. Meanwhile, just down the road the man on the corner is starving and sleeping outside. Sometimes we get so caught up in our own problems we forget to reach out and realize that there is always someone who has it worse.

I have Cystic Fibrosis, it sucks horribly, it’s painful, and it makes most daily activities very difficult…if not impossible. But, I have a bed to sleep in, clean clothes to wear, and food to put in my belly. I’m not asking you to go give everyone who looks down on their luck $100 bill…I am asking you to give them a bunch of bananas, or allow the lady with a crying baby and three toddlers to go in front of you in the checkout line, simple things that can have a greater impact than the action taken.

Hopefully your week wasn’t too rough, and have a great weekend. Be safe, there will be crazy, drunk, idiot’s out driving around from party to party watching football, and consuming huge amounts of alcohol. Enjoy the game, RISE UP, and watch the Falcon’s win this thing!

Leave a Reply

