Saturday morning…wake up, stretch, enjoy the fact that it’s the weekend, is there any better feeling after a long week? I don’t think so, and as I sit here typing  and listening to music with some college basketball in the background I revel in the joy simple things can bring. That is one of the hardest things I’ve come to discover about CF, is that if you don’t live when you can, you will only survive…and that isn’t any good at all. Sadly I’ve had times where I’m just surviving, but I’ve come to a point where I was so stressed, tired, angry, sad, depressed, everything was hell! Several years ago it hit me like a ton of bricks with razors embedded in them. I decided right then and there that was not going to be my mindset going forward. After a doctor appointment with my amazing head shrink I did it! I literally just quit with all the negativity, the yelling, the being mad, the hate, and the distrust in life. I walked out about 20 steps outside the building and that was it, I was done being miserable!

Now, please don’t get me wrong, life for me isn’t easy by any stretch of the imagination…it’s hard, it sucks, it makes me want to freak out. However, I now have control over my mental faculties to a point where I can be miserable all day, and still enjoy a drink, a good conversation, movie, book, anything…It is an amazing weight lifted, I was always walking around in a toxic head state. After having a few years of rational, reality based thoughts, and not losing my shit every time something happens I am in a much better place in general, but more specifically mentally I am solid. So, in my current situation, I deal with the same “problems,” I just handle them 50x better, and it’s amazing how it changes your outlook, your perception of life. It was a damn hard thing to accomplish, but it was worth the time, effort, self-doubt, self-loathing even to get to where I am now. If I hadn’t gotten better I would probably not be here anymore…which is weird to think that would’ve been what brought me down.

Anyways…lol…but, feeling better about life is a good thing no matter how far gone you seem it’s always possible to gather up your broken parts, put them together, and move forward. I did it, and so can you! I won’t be simple, straightforward, quick, or any form of basic nonchalance you can think of. In the end though it will be worth it, you’ll look back and smile at how far you’ve come. I believe all of us can attain our happy place in life, and with a little help from people with knowledge and experience it is absolutely able to be done. Having said that, if anyone whos reading this needs, or knows someone who needs a little bit of help/guidance please don’t hesitate to ask me…that’s is the point of my attempt at this site, and blog. I want to be there for the people who feel like there is nowhere else to turn and nothing good in sight…no light at the end of the tunnel is a horrid feeling. Please, do not feel like you’re alone, you aren’t and I would love to help you understand that. Lets change our perspective’s and be happy!! Hopefully everyone is having a great weekend, and enjoy the rest of it to the fullest!

CF Life tip of the day: Do not compare yourself to people who aren’t walking in your shoes, or who have never walked in shoes like yours…Trying to fit in is just human nature, but be happy with your place in life and find the places, people, and activities that make you the person you want to be. It pays dividends to be happy being YOU.

CF Life Body Hack # 2: As soon as you wake up drink a half-bottle of water before you do anything else, and then use the rest to take your morning meds, after that slam something nutritious into your stomach (yogurt, fruit, crackers, smoothie/milkshake) something you enjoy enough to use it most days. The water will lubricate your system, and loosen up mucus. The nutrition will give you the needed energy to get your day going while you tough out the difficult stuff (coughing, hacking, bathroom, etc.)

Leave a Reply

