Well, it’s been a while since a posted anything on here. I tried my best to enjoy what parts of the Christmas – New Year’s holidays I could. I actually had a pretty good couple of days in a row, which is very unusual for me. So, on Christmas Eve we went to the Melting Pot, and it was delicious. On Christmas day we slept in a bit, then we woke up and had our morning coffee/tea as we each opened our “Santa Present” which was a stocking. As we sifted through the candy and little knickknack’s we enjoyed the view out over the cul-de-sac we live on. Then we dove into our presents and me, my mom, and my stepdad went in turn opening, we usually go smallest to largest, or go in the order of which presents we get handed…I don’t know why we do it like that, other than some gifts are prerequisites to other ones. It was very nice, relaxed, and enjoyable. As my “natural Christmas energy” flowed I soaked it up, and enjoyed every second of it. I’ve mentioned in the past (I think) that I get a pretty noticeable boost of naturally great energy that flows through me during certain holidays, and a couple other very specific times of the year. So we went through the day and the next enjoying great food, and yummy drinks. We had a good spread of Xmas morning food: orange juice, coffee, tea, Champagne for Mimosa’s, fruit, cheeses, eggs, smoked salmon, and a few other miscellaneous finger foods. That went into lunch, and for dinner we had a really good beef roast with potatoes, green beans, gravy, a really good bread with herb butter, and some sparkling grape juice (family tradition). The day of and the next couple were extremely enjoyable, we had a really nice couple of days, and I kind of forgot about how I felt with all the good vibes surging through me.

As the New Year rolled around the spirit of Christmas had kind of faded, and I was starting to feel crappy (my normal) again…but, I decided to kind of amp up a couple of my meds, and keep the spirit alive as long as I could. So for New Year’s eve we had a bunch of people surrounding our neighborhood doing fireworks, so after dinner we grabbed a couple of drink and went outside and set up on the porch to watch the show! It was awesome, we had a 360 degree fireworks show, when one direction died down we just rotated our chairs and kept on enjoying the show. After a couple of hours of hanging out watching fireworks, munching on leftovers, and sharing some drink and some laughs we went to bed. New Year’s day was nice also, we all slept in until like 10:30-11:00 then we woke up and my mom put out the breakfast snack’s, as well as getting everything else we had enjoyed the past couple of days out of the fridge, freezer, etc…warmed it all up and set it out. We went throughout the rest of the day grazing over the table of leftover delectable, finishing up the holiday drinks: eggnog, a bit of bourbon, champagne, juices, and sparkling grape. As we stuffed ourselves we also, watched a couple of really good movies, a couple that we watched  we showing on TV and the others were movies that we had received as presents. All in all it was very fun, we enjoyed each other’s company, did the whole visit/call family members, and did a good bit of laughing, which I absolutely love to do. It was an absolutely great several days!

Soaking up the Christmas spirit was something we all needed very much, especially because my family needed it. Having the CF makes all the year pretty rough, and sometimes we forget that our family, especially the ones closest to us, tend to carry a good bit of the burden when one of their own has a disease like CF or another lifelong illness, be it terminal or not. It’s kind of easy  to get caught up in your own “stuff” when you are sick all the time, but remembering that they are also suffering is something that needs to be recognized to allow everyone who needs an outlet for their feelings to let that stuff go for a while. Well, it was a success, we had a great week…and brought in the New Year together with laughs and love. I hope everyone’s holiday was great and that you enjoyed your family and friends. Here’s to a great 2017!!

Leave a Reply

